Citizenship Rights

What rights and responsibilities are being withheld from the hundreds of thousands of qualified citizenship applicants currently caught in the backlog?

    • Federal voting rights
    • Provincial or territorial voting rights
    • Municipal voting rights
    • School board election voting rights
    • The right to run for federal office
    • The right to run for provincial or territorial office
    • The right to run for municipal office
    • The right to serve on a school board
    • Jury duty
    • Eligibility to serve on Citizens’ Assemblies
    • Mobility rights: to enter, remain in and leave Canada
    • Relief from de facto statelessness if a permanent resident is unable to obtain a national passport from their home country due to residence in Canada
    • Eligibility to serve in the Canadian Forces
    • Eligibility for the RCMP
    • The right to obtain citizenship for a child adopted via an intercountry adoption
    • Minority Language Education Rights
    • Greater ease getting reliability screenings or lower level security clearances necessary to work in the federal government as a regular or temporary employee
    • Eligibility for higher level security clearances
    • Eligibility for employment at some governmental agencies. (Including Communications Security Establishment Canada, Canadian Security and Intelligence Services)
    • Preference and priority in federal public service employment (schedule I & IV of Financial Administration Act)
      • Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada
      • Agriculture & Agrifood Canada
      • Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency
      • Canada Border Services Agency
      • Canada Emission Reduction Incentives Agency
      • Canada Industrial Relations Board
      • Canada School of Public Service
      • Canadian Artists and Producers Professional Relations Tribunal
      • Canadian Environmental Assessment Agency
      • Canadian Forces Grievance Board
      • Canadian Grain Commission
      • Canadian Heritage
      • Canadian Human Rights Commission
      • Canadian Human Rights Tribunal
      • Canadian Intergovernmental Conference Secretariat
      • Canadian International Trade Tribunal
      • Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency
      • Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission
      • Canadian Space Agency
      • Canadian Transportation Accident Investigation and Safety Board
      • Canadian Transportation Agency
      • Citizenship & Immigration Canada
      • Communication Canada
      • Competition Tribunal
      • Copyright Board
      • Correctional Service of Canada
      • Courts Administration Service
      • Director of Soldier Settlement
      • The Director, The Veterans’ Land Act
      • Economic Development Agency of Canada for the Regions of Quebec
      • Energy Supplies Allocation Board
      • Environment Canada
      • Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario
      • Department of Finance Canada
      • Financial Consumer Agency of Canada
      • Fisheries & Oceans Canada
      • Foreign Affairs & International Trade
      • Hazardous Materials Information Review Commission
      • Health Canada
      • Human Resources & Skills Development
      • Immigration and Refugee Board
      • Indian Oil and Gass Canada
      • Indian Residential Schools Truth and Reconciliation Commission
      • Industry Canada
      • International Joint Commission (Canadian Section)
      • Justice Canada
      • Law Commission of Canada
      • Library and Archives of Canada
      • Military Police Complaints Commission
      • National Defence
      • National Energy Board
      • National Farm Products Council
      • National Parole Board
      • Natural Resources Canada
      • Office of Infrastructure of Canada
      • Office of the Chief Electoral Officer
      • Office of the Commissioner for Federal Judicial Affairs
      • Office of the Commissioner of Lobbying
      • Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages
      • Office of the Co-ordinator, Status of Women
      • Office of the Correctional Investigator of Canada
      • Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions
      • Office of the Public Sector Integrity Commissioner
      • Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy
      • Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions
      • Offices of the Information and Privacy Commissioners of Canada
      • Patented Medicine Prices Review Board
      • Prairie Farm Rehabilitation Administration
      • Privy Council Office
      • Public Health Agency of Canada
      • Public Safety Canada
      • Public Service Commission
      • The Public Service Labour Relations Board
      • Public Service Staffing Tribunal
      • Public Works & Government Services
      • Registry of the Public Servants Disclosure Protection Tribunal
      • Registry of the Specific Claims Tribunal
      • Royal Canadian Mounted Police
      • Royal Canadian Mounted Police External Review Committee
      • Royal Canadian Mounted Police Public Complaints Commission
      • Shared Services Canada
      • Staff of the Supreme Court
      • Statistics Canada
      • Transport Canada
      • Transportation Appeal Tribunal of Canada
      • Treasury Board
      • Veterans Affairs Canada
      • Veterans Review and Appeal Board
      • Western Economic Diversification Canada
    • The ability to travel to the following countries and territories without a visa for periods ranging from 14 days to 6 months or indefinitely: Albania, Andorra, Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Aruba, Austria, Azores, Bahamas, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belgium, Belize, Bermuda, Bolivia, Bonaire, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, British Virgin Islands, Burnei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Canary Islands, Cayman Islands, Chile, Colombia, Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Croatia, Curaçao, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Estonia, Falkland Islands, Finland, France, French Polynesia, Georgia, Germany, Gilbraltar, Greece, Greenland, Grenada, Guadelupe, Guam, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel and Palestine, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Kiribati, Kosovo, Latvia, Lesotho, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macao, Macedonia, Malawi, Malaysia, Malta, Martinique, Mauritius, Mayotte, Micronesia, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Montserrat, Morocco, Namibia, Netherlands, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niue, Nortern Marianas, Norway, Panama, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Romania, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Martin, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Singapore, Sint Maarten, Slovakia, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turks and Caicos Islands, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, US Virgin Islands, Vanuatu, and Venezuela
    • Right to Canadian consular services when traveling abroad
    • Right of one’s children to study or work abroad

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s